Board Members

Co-Chair | Kim McDaniel, City of Westminster

Kim is a Retirement Administrator for the City of Westminster.  She has more than 15 years of retirement plan industry experience and is responsible for the administration of multiple defined contribution plans that include a 457 deferred compensation plan and ROTH 457.  Kim received her bachelor’s degree in Accounting and Business Administration from University of Colorado at Boulder. Kim has earned the Chartered Retirement Plan Specialist (CRPS®) designation from the College of Financial Planning.  Kim joined the Colorado Public Plan Coalition Board in 2009.

Co-Chair  |  Rick Rodgers, Innovest Portfolio Solutions

Rick has more than 30 years of experience working as an educator and consultant to governmental and private-sector retirement plans. Rick has assisted multiple plan sponsors with the continual effort to improve the design and effectiveness of their defined contribution and defined benefit retirement plans. As a former professional musician, he brings a unique approach to participant and fiduciary education. His thoughts, ideas and successes concerning investment education, retirement planning practices and fiduciary due diligence have been presented to plan sponsors, employee benefits professionals and human resource organizations from coast to coast. He has earned the Accredited Investment Fiduciary Analyst (AIFA®) designation from the University of Pittsburgh, Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business, and has received formal training in investment fiduciary responsibility. Also, he has earned the Certified Retirement Counselor (CRC) designation, issued by the International Foundation for Retirement Education (InFRE) and the Series 65 License (Registered Investment Adviser Representative) through FINRA.

Secretary | Bob Byerhof , City of Westminster

Bob is the Treasury Manager for the City of Westminster and has worked for the City since 2000.   Bob has served on the City’s Pension Board since 2005 and on the Colorado Public Plan Coalition Board since 2008.  In addition, Bob sits on the Westminster Federal Credit Union Board.

Bob graduated from Trinity University in San Antonio with a BS degree in Sociology and MS Finance degree from University of Colorado at Denver.  Bob also holds a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA®) designation and is a certified yoga instructor.

Board Member  |  Dave Hayes, Boulder Police Department 

David Hayes is a Trustee of the City of Boulder “Old Hire” Defined Benefit Plan and is currently the Deputy Chief of the Support and Staff Services Division of the Boulder Police Department. David joined the CPPC Board in 2010.

Board Member | Eric Leavitt, Empower Retirement

Eric Leavitt is a regional sales director for Empower Retirement. In his role, Eric is responsible for business development in governmental markets across the western United States. He joined the organization in 2015, prior to joining Empower Retirement; Eric worked for an investment and plan consulting firm located in Denver, CO.

Eric holds a Bachelor of Arts from Colorado State University. He currently maintains FINRA Series 6 and 63 securities registrations and sits on the board for the Colorado Public Pension Coalition.

Board Member  | Jared Martin – Innovest Portfolio Solutions

Jared is a Vice President and Consultant at Innovest Portfolio Solutions. Jared is a member of Innovest’s Retirement Plan Practice Group, a specialized team that identifies best practices and implements process improvements to maximize efficiencies for our retirement plan clients. At Innovest, Jared provides consulting services to committees, boards, and individuals. He also manages the relationships between service providers and plan sponsors and provides ongoing vendor management for Innovest’s clients. He also leads many special projects for our retirement plan clients.

Jared is a Certified Financial Planner®, holding this designation since 2003. Jared holds an Accredited Investment Fiduciary (AIF®) designation and having successfully completed this course of study, he uses his expertise to ensure that Innovest institutional clients are following a prudent investment process utilizing the Uniform Standards of Care. Jared received his bachelor’s degree in business and economics from Regis University in Denver, graduating cum laude.

Prior to joining Innovest, Jared was the director of relationship management with ICMA-RC. In this role he was responsible for the overall business relationship and retention of the clients within his territory. Prior to being a relationship manager, he was the financial planning manager with ICMA-RC for the previous 8 years.

Treasurer |  Sue Sandstrom, Arapahoe County

Sue is the Arapahoe County Treasurer.  She has over 17 years of experience as a pension plan trustee.  Currently, Sue serves on the boards of the Arapahoe County Retirement Plan, the City of Aurora General Employees Retirement Plan and the City of Aurora Old-Hire Fire Pension Plan.  Sue has been a Certified Public Accountant for 38 years, and has owned and operated a local CPA firm since 1990.  Sue served on the Aurora City Council for seven years.  She received her Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting and Business Administration from Western State College of Colorado and completed the coursework for a Master’s Degree in Taxation from Colorado State University.

Board Member | Terri Velasquez, City of Aurora

Terri Velasquez is the Finance Director for the City of Aurora, Colorado. She is responsible for operations of the City’s Finance Department and the overall management of the City’s finances. Previously, Ms. Velasquez served as the Deputy Finance Director of the City of Aurora from January 2012 through February 2015. From 1987 through 2011 she worked for the City of Colorado Springs, Colorado in a number of capacities including Director of Finance and Administrative Services and Chief Finance Officer.’

Ms. Velasquez received a master’s degree in Finance and a bachelor’s degree in Accounting from the University of Colorado and is also a licensed Certified Public Accountant in the state of Colorado. She holds a Certified Public Finance Officer designation from the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA).

Ms. Velasquez previously served six years on the Retirement and Benefits Committee and three years on the Nominating Committee for GFOA. She also served 8 years on ICMA-RC’s VantageTrust Company Board as Chair, Vice Chair, and Trustee. She is currently a Trustee of the City of Aurora’s Executive and Elected Pension Plans and a non-voting Board Member of the General Employee Retirement Plan. She also serves as Treasurer and Trustee of the Old Hire Police and Fire Pension Boards and Chair of the City’s 457 Deferred Compensation Committee.

Board Member | Kerry Wood, Voya Financial

Kerry Woods has been in the financial services industry since 2010 and is the Consultant Relations Director for the Tax-Exempt Market within Voya. Kerry is responsible for developing and cultivating relationships with consultants and prospective defined contribution distribution partners and plan sponsors to facilitate new defined contribution plan sales.

Kerry received her Bachelor of Science in Corporate Communications from Northern Illinois University. She is a FINRA Series 6 and 63 Registered Representative.